top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Cameron

Shepherd's Pie


Hello All,


If you're new, welcome to my little space God has gifted me to be able to share how to make home and you beautiful! I love writing blog posts to encourage and provoke to action the changes needed to be made for ourselves (for God) and our home. It's my heart's desire that you find joy and a strong desire of wanting to be more of an excellent women of God daily in the day-to-day tasks life brings- especially in our homes.


Home is a beautiful word and I've come to love it a lot more than what I did when I was younger. I've realized a warm, comfy, Godly home takes work. It takes intention. On my blog, you will find all of those needed tips, inspiration, and more to help you achieve that daily with Jesus' help.


Home is a place where you can find warm, good, nourishing food, clean floors, sheets washed and folded, peace, and weekly Bible studies. It's a place that is looked forward to everyday when you get off work. It's a place where God starts you at before He can trust you with more. It's such a foundational place and I want to help you thrive in it while growing into whatever He has called you to be. Let's do this!


Today, I'll be sharing with you all one of my go-to favorite warming, nourishing meals that is perfect for the winter, your schedule, and definitely your body. I work a 9 to 5 and although from scratch, a bit more than basic, food is VERY important to me, I have to be realistic. This meal is one of those meals that is filling, has my carb, protein, fat with some veg, and dairy, as well, if you can handle it. It is so good and almost makes me shed a tear when I eat it lol. Let's get into this goodness!


Traditional Shepherd's Pie is made with lamb, I believe, but I decided to make mine with the American classic, ground beef!


RECIPE


INGREDIENTS* (I go for Organic)

-High heat cooking fat/oil (I used a little tallow as the ground beef will produce its own)

-Russet potatoes

-Grass-fed ground beef

-Peas (I didn't have any on hand so I used green zucchini and yellow squash)

-Whole onion, chopped in your desire cut

-Celtic salt

-Seasoning if you desire, a garlic and herb would work well


Preheat oven to 375 degrees.


In a large pot, add rinsed, peeled, and quartered potatoes. Cover with enough pure water and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium and continue to boil until fork tender. Don't overcook. Strain water and set side.


In a large frying pan, add your tallow and turn heat to medium. Once melted and hot, add you onion and cook until fragrant and somewhat soft. Add your rinsed and dried ground beef. Break apart, season if desired but don't forget that salt, and cook until very close to brown. Add in your peas or vegetable of choice and cook until somewhat soft, ground beef should be done.


In a large greased pie dish, add your ground beef and veggie mixture.


Next, get your mashed potatoes ready by mashing them with a fork in a large bowl, sprinkling salt, fat of choice (butter, tallow, etc.), an egg yolk for a special touch, milk and cream if you're able. Smash and stir until creamy. Top meat and vegetable mixture with mashed potatoes.


Bake for 22-25 minutes, until everything melds together and potatoes have a nice crust on top.


Enjoy and think about the next time you'll be making it lol!


I know you all will enjoy this simple, quick recipe and as always, I truly thank y'all for coming by!


Love,

Hannah


Check out my YouTube channel, Hannah's Home created., and please don't forget to like, comment, subscribe, with the addition of clicking the notification bell to never miss a video!

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarze


bottom of page