top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Cameron

How to Create a Food Shopping List

Hi Friends,


I'm so glad you're here! Today I wanted to share with you a practical skill that will truly come in handy for you now and in the long run: How to Create a Food Shopping List! This seems like such a simple thing and believe me, it will be as you get the hang of creating one that is functional and consistently healthy. Before we get into the blog post, let's chat a little.. How are you? Anything new happening- new local restaurant you've tried, new recipe from a French cookbook?


I've been well and my days have been spent mainly in the kitchen (is that new, lol?). Gourds have been in abundance in our household and we've been using them almost every day. I made a delicious soup with stew beef meat and butternut squash, and my oh my, was it simply amazing. My body just loved it. I just placed my order for meats (and yes, I bought more stew beef cuts of meat for more of that soup!) and am awaiting its arrival. I bought some produce, as well, from Instacart to make sure we are ready for the week- healthy, nourishing meals don't come by accident, they take preparation. If you're in a busy season of life or in a challenging situation and going to the market is seemingly impossible for you, please use my code to take up to $20.00 off your order: PEWSB72CF4 I pray it helps a bit.* Let's get into the topic of today's post!


For the most part, we all have created some sort of food shopping list, whether it was functional and consistent, you only know and also your cabinet... Yes, those Oreos are very much so looking at you, shaking their head. We've been there, but let's not be there anymore. Here are my tips so we can truly prosper in our earthly life to bring SO SO much glory to Jesus' name!


  1. Invite Jesus in it

My blog is for women of all ages and specifically for those that want to be excellent women of God. This is something that is progressive, but happens in the day to day living of life. I encourage you to invite Jesus in your tasks, even small things like food shopping lists, because He is the love of your life and wants to be included in what you do and vice versa. If you don't know how to do that, pray this before any task, "Dear my Sweet Lord, I love you and because I do, I want to invite you to be apart of this with me. I am nothing with you. Please help me to be excellent in this area to bring much glory to you. In Jesus' name, Amen." You'll be surprised the ideas He'll give you and lead you to. He made you and truly knows what's best for you and your family's bodies.

If Jesus ain't in it, I'm not going to begin it!


2. Be Strategic

Sometimes y'all, you won't be able to get everything from one store. I know, I know, it's a pain, but that's just the way it is. I find myself having to go to several stores to get the deals I need for my budget. You want your money to stretch and work for you. What I like to do is bulk buy my meat from a farm so I'm not spending so much money on the quality meat I like to buy. When I bulk buy my meat, that leaves me having to go the grocery store only for small things, like produce, condiments, or specialty items. Also, look at the circulars for coupons and sale dates for those items that are left.


3. Write a Purposeful List

This ties into step two, as well. Write a list of ingredients you know your family enjoys (some items, however, you'll just have to step out and try so your family's tastebuds can try more of what God made for us to experience and enjoy), of things that aren't already in your cabinet/pantry, will make a complete meal (all food groups), and doesn't include unnecessary items. When I write my list, I do an inventory of what I already have in the house so I don't buy too much extra (my momma always taught me to not let things get completely bare). I then think of some meals (whole food based meals that don't require too much of this or that- look at my other posts for meal inspiration) so my list has a direction, I also think of snacks we've been enjoying (are there any that can be made from scratch?). Also, are there any items on my list like fruit juice that can be substituted with homemade iced tea, so I'm not spending a lot of money on a small bottle of healthy fruit juice (it's not practical- gone in a day)? With the tips I've mentioned above, I go to the grocery store/farmer's market to mainly pick up my produce since I ordered my meat separately. Because I do a lot of whole food cooking, our grocery bill isn't as expensive as it could be- the only reason it's still pricey for us is because we love to eat (God made us that way!)


If you're like my family, food shopping is a whole thing- we look forward to it each time, it's been like that since I was young! Don't let God's gift of food shopping be what the enemy wants it to be, stressful and dreaded. Instead, team up with Jesus, some of me!, and effort, and enjoy shopping for your family!


I hope you all enjoy this post and see you in the next one!


Love,

Hannah

*This is not a sponsored post.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page