top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Cameron

How to Create a Cleaning Schedule and List

Good Afternoon Everyone,


I hope you all are doing very well in the Lord! Today, I will be sharing a post that is sure to help bring clarity, consistent results, and a better you!


Cleaning, as mentioned in the previous post, was something I didn't like to do. I've always loved coming into a clean home with fresh, warm sheets, dishes neatly put away, couches dressed with fluffed pillows (don't we all?), but, as I got older, I realized that takes effort. It takes intention. One thing I've always loved dearly about times past, specifically the era of the 1950-1960s, was who the woman was, what she exuded. She was pure, virtuous, strong, but yet, gentle, graceful, clean, useful as in she possessed many abilities that allowed her to truly be a help to her Lord, herself, her family, church, and one day if in the Lord's good will, her husband. Y'all, if that isn't beauty and what women are supposed to be, I simply don't know what is.


With having a cleaning schedule and list pinned to your pushboard, saved to your laptop, or written in your beautiful planner, you'll be more apt to doing as you've written or typed. Another thing I love about it is you have a visual help-aid that shows you what works for you and what doesn't. My cleaning schedule and list changes as I see what I can actually do in a day (what tasks take longer) or for other reasons. As you grow into the woman of God Jesus has called you to be, you'll find in order to grow any further, you must start with what you can do today. No going to T.J. Maxx for a planner when you're already on a tight budget, use that plain composition book (I know, I don't like them myself) and start there. No waiting for the husband to embark on these precious gifts of bettering yourself for the Lord, you, and your family e.g. cleaning, routines, schedules... Start today on the amazing day He has given you!


Let's get to it!


My cleaning schedule and list consists of four key concepts: Jesus, Family, Consistency, and Progress.


First Concept: Jesus

I need to incorporate Jesus into my everyday. The little things and big things. Little is emboldened, because the little things are the foundation to doing well in the big things. Without Him, I don't have a life. I don't have hope. Even with a lot going on in my everyday, I love Him and need Him- and, that has to be shown. I make sure in the midst of my cleaning, which usually takes place in the afternoon, to set aside time to read my Bible, pray, or worship. It's my way of showing YOU are important to me. With this time, my day is already blessed.


Second Concept: Family

This one is the second concept that is dear to my heart (with the first being above). I love my family- they are precious to me. Like I mentioned in the above concept, taking time out for someone shows them, and brings about a deeper conviction in you, you care about them. So, when creating your list, don't make it so long where you don't have time to sit for 30 minutes and discuss life over a cup of joe.


Third Concept: Consistency

I remember when I was in 6th grade, I wrote a paper on consistency and how you need it to be successful in life... something like that. Couldn't be any more truer! I like my schedule and list to be something I know I can stick with. I get to that place, however, by trial and error. When I see what tasks take me a good amount of time, or what schedule flows better for me, it'll help me create a solid schedule. I think the beauty about this concept is the blessing you get to see by seeing your growth. If you were never consistent in something in life or you've wanted to do better in cleaning and organization, being consistent and roughing it out if need be, will give you so much joy when it becomes a habit. Yes, that means letting your friends know occasionally you'll have to miss you guys' date on Thursday, because you have some cleaning to do!


Fourth Concept: Progress

This concept is so crucial, because progress means change is happening (in a good way!). If you find your cleaning schedule isn't working for you and is availing no progress, change it by trial and error- see what works for the Lord, you, and your family! Also, give progress time, because good things take time.


Once you have considered these concepts, head to Hobby Lobby, T.J. Maxx, and pick out yourself a cute planner, and an extra one for your Momma or sister. Some of the greatest gifts are ones that will lead to excellent change in one's life. Also, pick up some cleaning products! This is the FUN part! What scents do you like- grapefruit, basil, lavender? Pick out products that will motivate you to clean and ones you know 'I can't leave the store without this'! Stay on the lookout for a list of my favorite cleaning products and recommendations for different rooms of the home!


Open your planner when you have some alone time and brainstorm the days you know you'll be able to clean consistently.


Then, create your cleaning list, what you are going to do on the days selected. Are you going to do a room at a time- a room per week, a room per day? Do you want to clean more than one room a day or week?


The schedule and the list combined are your system.


When you have created those 2 things, you're off to a great start! Also, I will have printables for you for schedules and more planner-like material, so stay on the lookout as that's in the making!


Thank you for joining me today as we grow together into the women of God He has called us to be! If you enjoyed this post, please heart it and also, let me know in the comments- I love hearing from you!


Love,

Hannah

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page