top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Cameron

Homemade Pancakes

Updated: Apr 2, 2022

The perfect Saturday morning pancake that takes less than 10 minutes to prepare and is quite delicious!



Hello Friends,


Welcome to the continuation of my other blog, Hannah's Living Hope! It has been quite some time since I've blogged, but it's been for some good reason. Life. Real life. And, a hint of Realer life. I think you get the gist. I want to apologize for my absence and reintroduce myself to the blogging world. What better way than with a homemade pancake recipe that is oh-so-perfect for Saturday mornings!


Saturday mornings for us, in a perfect world, involves waking up when the sun cracks the beautiful sky and birds begin to chirp their special song. Cute, refreshed, and smushed faces awaken with slobber that effortlessly leaves a piece of artwork behind on our satin pillowcases. As we (my precious momma and I) proceed to the kitchen, the tea kettle gets filled, pans become drums as the frying pan is sought after, and the table is set. The story could go on, but I think it's time we get to reality!


In all honestly, Saturday mornings are my perfect way of being intentional. I like the table to be set beautifully as this is a special occasion for my family: a mother daughter breakfast date. The above Saturday morning depiction is a dream of mine and one day, that will be possible in God's special time.


Are y'all ready for the recipe? (yes y'all, y'all is still a part of my vocabulary #lol )

 

F.A.Q.s about Homemade Pancakes


How long does it take to make this recipe?

Not long at all. This is why this recipe is a perfect recipe for Saturday mornings- a time where you can cherish your time in the kitchen and enjoy more family time at the table!


How do I know when to flip my pancakes?

When enough bubbles have formed on top and they start popping. I also do the spatula test where I put the spatula under the pancake and see if it's golden brown. If you can't do the test yet, the pancake is definitely not done and if it's not a golden brown color, it's not done, but it's close.


I'm not a fan of plain pancakes. Can I add toppings?

Yes! You can add fruit e.g. blueberries, bananas, nut butters, dark chocolate chips. I like to keep things on the healthy side and I'm sure you do, too!


Can I freeze my extra pancakes?

Definitely, but I'm not a fan of freezing my food, so I'll try to make the perfect amount of batter where I know none is left. BUT! If you're a working woman or man, freezing might just be your best friend.


RECIPE

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon white sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 egg

1 cup farm-fresh milk

2 tablespoons coconut oil


INSTRUCTIONS

In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Make a well in the center, pouring in your milk and adding your egg. Beat the egg in the milk and then, add your oil.

Mix until smooth.

Let batter sit for 2 minutes and preheat your pan. When is pan is warm, add in your butter. Once butter turns almost golden, ladle your batter into pan. Your heat should be almost to medium. When enough bubbles have formed and start to pop, flip. They should be a nice golden brown on top. Let the other side cook through and plate up!

Serve with a nice pat of butter and warm maple syrup. My oh my, I'm thinking about them now...


Recipe adapted from Allrecipes


Love,

Hannah

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page